Mito Chamber Orchestra (MCO)
The 84th Regular Concert

July 7 (Sat.), 2012, to July 8 (Sun.), 2012


The German conductor Jun Märkl, who has directed performances in orchestras and opera houses around the world, returns to Art Tower Mito to lead the MCO for the first time in approximately two years. In May 2012 he was awarded ‘chevalier de l’ordre des arts et des lettres’ by the French government. The program to be performed at Mito this time features the Japanese pianist Momo Kodama, who lives in Paris and is actively performing internationally, as soloist in Saint-Saëns’ Piano Concerto No. 2. Another piece to be presented is Beethoven’s Symphony No.1, continuing Märkl’s tradition in recent years of placing symphonies written by that composer at the core of MCO’s repertoire. Linked by a deep bond of trust built up through multiple joint appearances, Jun Märkl and the brilliant musicians of MCO deliver an opulent feast of sound.

Jun Märkl, Conductor
Momo Kodama, Piano

Wagner: Siegfreid Idyll
Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor, Op.22
  Momo Kodama, Piano
Beethoven: Symphony No.1 in C major, Op.21

*The concert has been selected as one of the projects for “Disseminating Creativity from Outstanding Theaters and Music Halls” by the national Agency for Cultural Affairs for fiscal 2012.


[All seats reserved]S:¥8,000, A:¥6,500, B:¥5,000
July 7(Sat): Start 18:30/Open 18:00
July 8(Sun): Start 14:00/Open 13:30

©Christiane Hohne

Jun Märkl


©Vincent Garnier

Momo Kodama




Mito Chamber Orchestra (MCO)
The 84th Regular Concert


Concert Hall ATM



Organized by

Mito Arts Foundation

Grants from

Agency for Cultural Affairs

Sponsored by

POINT Inc., Genden Fureai Ibaraki Foundation, Yoshida Oil Co., Ltd.

In cooperation with

All Nippon Airways Co., Ltd.

Supported by

Ibaraki Shimbun Co.,Ltd., Mito Chamber of Commerce and Industry

> To the Top