Commemorative Concert of the 100th Anniversary of Hidekazu Yoshida's Birth

Mito Chamber Orchestra
Concert in Tokyo

July 8 (Mon.), 2013

Yu Kosuge ©Marco Borggreve
Jun Märkl ©Jean-Baptiste Millot

Jun Märkl, Conductor
Yu Kosuge, Piano

Suntory Hall

Toshio Hosokawa: Blossoming Ⅱ(Japan premiere)
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor, Op.37
Schubert: Symphony No.8 in C major, D944 "The Great"

Jun Maerkl and the MCO pave the way toward a "symphony of a new dimension"

What sort of sound would be produced an orchestra consisting of seasoned Japanese performers active on the international stage? It was with that idea
that Art Tower Mito's first director general, the music critic Hidekazu Yoshida (1913-2012), proposed the formation of the Mito Chamber Orchestra

MCO's performances differ from those of large-scale orchestras, as the group aspires to emulate the format of chamber music. That means that all the
group's players are involved actively, not passively, in the creation of the music, listening intently to the sound made by each other as they weave a tapestry of sound both elaborate and rich in nuance. The conductor in such a case does not reign over the musicians as an "absolute authority", but participates in the ensemble as a fellow member with the other musicians in the joint quest for the deepest reaches of music.

Jun Maerkl (b. 1959 in Munich, Germany) and the MCO have performed seven times together since 2004. No other conductor besides Seiji Ozawa, the group's director general, has appeared jointly with the group so often. The program this time consists of three works.

The first work on the program is '"Blossoming II,'" written by the composer Toshio Hosokawa (b. 1955 in Japan) to represent the flower of a lotus about to blossom in a pond illuminated by moonlight. It will be followed by Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3, featuring Yu Kosuge (b. 1983 in Japan) as piano soloist. She was praised lavishly by Hidekazu Yoshida as a person who would lead the next generation of Japanese pianists. Finally, MCO will
perform Schubert's Symphony No. 9, '"The Great,'" approaching it through the new dimension of the chamber orchestra. Ever since the piece's debut
performance under the direction of Mendelssohn, it has generally been performed by large orchestras, so Jun Maerkl and the MCO will shine new light on
it under the chamber music format.


[All seats reserved]S¥8,000 A¥6,500 B¥5,000

Ticket Purchase

e+ (PC・Mobile) 
  0570-06-9912(Interactive voice response system) 
Suntory Hall Ticket Center 0570-55-0017
Suntory Hall Members Club WEB
Ticket PIA 0570-02-9999 (P-code:195-238)
Lawson Ticket 0570-000-407(operator-assisted call)
         0570-084-003(Interactive voice response system)[L-code: 36585]

©Jean-Baptiste Millot

Jun Märkl


©Marco Borggreve

Yu Kosuge




Mito Chamber Orchestra
Concert in Tokyo


Concert Hall ATM



Organized by

Mito Arts Foundation

Sponsored by

POINT INC., Genden Fureai Ibaraki Foundation, Yoshida Oil Co., Ltd. Mito Keisei Hotel

In cooperation with

All Nippon Airways Co., Ltd.

Supported by

THE IBARAKI SHIMBUN Co.,Ltd., Mito Chamber of Commerce and Industry

> To the Top