About us

About us

The Mito Chamber Orchestra (MCO), ATM's exclusive in-house orchestra, was established in 1990 concurrently with the opening of the cultural complex at the behest of ATM's first Director General, the late Hidekazu Yoshida(1913-2012). The group's general director and occasional conductor is the renowned Seiji Ozawa. The regular membership of the ensemble comprises 23 musicians - 17 Japanese and 5 foreigners - who are active worldwide. Before each concert, MCO's members gather from all around the world to the city of Mito to rehearse intensively.

General Director

Orchestra members

Founder and First General Director Hidekazu Yoshida (1913-2012)
Advisor Emeritus Tatsuo Oguchi
Intendant Tadashi Hori
MCO Members' chief Representative Masayuki Naoi
Personnel Manager Yoshiko Shiga
Honorary Members Shigenori Kudo, Nobuyuki Mizuno, Fumiaki Miyamoto
Memorial Members Masuko Ushioda, Edo Sumiko, Roland Altmann
Supported by Adastria Co., Ltd., Mito Securities Co.,Ltd.,Genden Ibaraki FoundationYoshida Oil Co., LTD
Cooperation All Nippon Airways Co., Ltd.
Sponsorship The Ibaraki Shimbun Co., Ltd., The Mito Chamber of Commerce and Industry